Within Join It, you can invoice additional users to collaborate on your Organization and grant them a specific 'permission' level.
This article will summarize and then detail the different permission levels that are available - and help you choose which permission to grant to an invited admin.
Summaries of Permission
First, we'll summarize the different permissions (before diving into more detail):
Owner Permissions - Owner permissions have access to all functionality and features within an Organization. Grant this permission to users who need the ability to take the most sensitive actions; for example: deleting user data and editing billing information.
Manager Permissions - While Manager Permissions do not have access to the most sensitive actions (such as deleting the organization), they do have access to the features that are needed to serve the members; for example: updating a membership's status, viewing membership records, and sending emails to members.
Frontdesk Permissions - Frontdesk permissions are very limited and typically are granted to enable users to view membership records and take limited actions on behalf of memberships. A user with front-desk permission will have limited access to the dashboard (logged-in users with front-desk permission will only see the Dashboard and Members table) and cannot access any of the setups or configurations.
Detailed Descriptions of Permissions
In this section, we'll review in more detail the different permission levels - so you can determine which ones are best to grant to your users.
When a user first creates an Organization, they are granted the 'owner' permission. This 'owner' permission gives them the most control over their Organization, its data, and the platform. When inviting additional users to your Organization, special consideration should be given before granting an 'owner' permission level.
Some key traits of the 'owner' permission:
Only owners can delete an Organization
Only owners can wipe an Organization's data
Only owners can update the Billing settings of an Organization's Package
Our most common permission that's granted to additional users is the 'manager' permission. This permission grants a wide breadth of permissions for the user to manage the memberships, but it doesn't grant the most critical and sensitive permissions.
For example, a user with a 'Manager' permission can:
Update the status of a membership record
Update the billing information of a membership
Collect additional payments on a membership
Send emails to individual members or a segment
However, a user with a 'Manager' permission cannot:
Managers can not bulk export a members list
Managers can not bulk delete members
Managers can not delete automations / connections
Managers can not delete an organization
Managers can not adjust Payout information via Join It (this can only be done directly in Stripe via the Stripe login)
And lastly, we offer the ability for a user to be granted 'frontdesk' permissions. This is the most restrictive of our permissions and only grants the user the ability to take minimal actions on behalf of members.
For example, a user with a 'Frontdesk' permission can:
Add new members through the admin portal
Look up an existing membership
Edit the details on single memberships
When applicable, check in a Membership
However, a user with 'Frontdesk' permission cannot:
Frontdesk users cannot make any major changes to the setup of an organization.
Frontdesk users can only interact with membership records -- by adding members, looking up members, and editing members.